The King's Award for Voluntary Services

The King's Award for Voluntary Service is the highest award given to volunteer groups across the UK for outstanding work done in their local communities.

Any group of two or more people doing volunteering work that is a social, economic or environmental service to the local community could receive the award. In order to be nominated, volunteer groups should do work that: provides activities and meets a need for people living in the local community; is supported, recognised and respected by the local community and the people who benefit from it; has developed and is run locally.

Volunteer groups should have a record of doing work in the local community.

Forms, Guidance and Information

The Nomination Forms have to be completed online and are available from the Kings Award for Voluntary Service website.

Guidance notes are also only available online.


The King's Award for Enterprise

The King's Awards for Enterprise are highly prestigious awards for outstanding achievement by UK business in the categories of Innovation, International Trade and Sustainable Development. The King's Awards for Enterprise Promotion is awarded to individuals who encourage entrepeneurial skills and attitudes in others.

The awards are made annually by His Majesty The King and are only given for the highest levels of excellence. They are judged to a demanding level and winners receive a number of benefits and worldwide recognition.

Previous corporate winners have come from a diverse selection of business sectors and have included large and small businesses. Recipients of the individual award have been from varied social and professional backgrounds.

The closing date for entries is the last working day of September each year and the winners are announced on 21 April the following year.

For more information, including the links to the online application and nomination forms visit the Kings's Award website. For further enquiries please call the King's Awards' Office helpline on: 0207 215 6880 or email: The Awards Office have also produced a "Guide".


Elizabeth Cross


The Elizabeth Cross and Memorial Scroll are granted to the Next of Kin of UK Armed Forces personnel who have died on operations or as a result of an act of terrorism in national recognition of their loss and sacrifice. The Elizabeth Cross is not a posthumous medal for the fallen but an emblem demonstrating tangible national recognition for service families for their loss.

Not all deaths of Service personnel are included in this scheme. The death of any Service person, whatever the circumstances, is a tragic loss to his or her family and the Armed Forces as a whole, but the Elizabeth Cross was instituted specifically to recognise the unique challenges that Service personnel face on operations and from terrorism and the particular burden this places on their families.

For further details on eligibility and nominations please contact the Clerk to the Lieutenancy through the Contact Us page.